Electric Automation Forum
Forum » General Discussion » The basic test equipment list of the power engineer?
Topics: The basic test equipment list of the power engineer? on General Discussion
Start by
Marty
09-09-2013 06:19 AM

The basic test equipment list of the power engineer?

I have been a power engineer for a long time. I have personally acquired the following pieces of test equipment:

1. Several scope voltage probes, (one HV voltage probe (V's > 500V))
2. A good oscilloscope current probe.
3. A "cheater plug" which isolates earth ground from the oscilloscope. Helps to preserve ground clips during AC/DC investigations.
4. A network analyzer, if you do not want to do the trial and error method. My book and Ray's are good for estimating the feedback needs, but they do not provide the ultimate answer. Ray's analyzer is great as well as Dean Venable's.

If anyone else wants to make a contribution, please do.
09-09-2013 06:20 AM
Top #2
Ray
I don't like to recommend the cheater plug. I prefer and isolation transformer and variac so I can ground things.

Yes, I use them sometimes, but floating your test equipment can bite you.
Top #3
Smith
You need a good function/signal generator for stability measurements.
09-09-2013 06:21 AM
Top #4
Scott
Programmable AC source. In addition to not having to float your scope, the adjustable peak and average current limits reduce the potential for explosive surprises.
Top #5
Kadir
Programmable electronic load is also very handy to see dynamic response of the power supply
Top #6
Marty
All good suggestions. I do have programmable load (a MOSFET and resistor also work), and several DMMs.

I brought this thread up because I had gotten into many discussion with young engineers that may not appreciate the depth to which a power engineer must peer into the operation of his/her power supply. I appreciate the response and I am glad all of you are sensitive to this.
09-09-2013 06:22 AM
Top #7
James
09-09-2013 06:22 AM