Electric Automation Forum
Forum » Solar Energy » HOW DO I BEST GO ABOUT BREAKING INTO THE SOLAR INDUSTRY
Topics: HOW DO I BEST GO ABOUT BREAKING INTO THE SOLAR INDUSTRY on Solar Energy
Start by
Stu Strumwasser
12-31-2013 06:57 PM

HOW DO I BEST GO ABOUT BREAKING INTO THE SOLAR INDUSTRY

Sales Evolution. Very experienced/capable in sales, bus dev and finance. 15 yrs on Wall St. followed by 5 as CEO of cpg startup. I have a great deal of success and experience in sales, sales management and training, marketing, deal structure and negotiation, raising capital, etc. I am a Cornell graduate and have a cursory understanding of the industry. I have been interested in renewable energy for a long time and believe there is huge opportunity, particularly in pv solar and the financing of solar. I can sell anything, and learned the beverage business in just a few months (I founded and ran a natural soda company), but I have found some employers reluctant to even consider anyone without direct industry experience. I am a tireless entrepreneur and want to build wealth while benefitting the planet. Suggestions?
12-31-2013 09:03 PM
Top #2
Stu Strumwasser
12-31-2013 09:03 PM
any thoughts?
12-31-2013 11:13 PM
Top #3
Chris L.
12-31-2013 11:13 PM
Hi Stu. Great questions, it depends on what area do you want to get in. I found that EPCs (aka install contractors) are fairly easy to start working with on the sales side. It is much like or can be like the real estate market where you are working on commission only. I found the manufacturer side to be a little more challenging. Looking at your original post, I would do the sales as an independent contractor, something tells me you work better for yourself than you do for others. If you want more information, let me know and we'll arrange something.
Regards,
Chris Lettman - Upsolar America, Inc
01-01-2014 01:24 AM
Top #4
Bijou Lulla
01-01-2014 01:24 AM