Electric Automation Forum
Forum » Solar Energy » DC Power Supply 5VDC @ 1A from solar panel array
Topics: DC Power Supply 5VDC @ 1A from solar panel array on Solar Energy
Start by
Pathma
09-09-2013 10:45 PM

DC Power Supply 5VDC @ 1A from solar panel array

Hi,
We got a requst to design a DC Power Supply which will be sourced from solar panel array connected in series. At peak the DC volt is rated to 1200VDC, typically 800VDC.

Honestly this is a bit above my capabilities, nevertheless I took the challenge as part of learning curve. I am studying about solar array output, and it does not look like a dc power source.

I'm also need to address the method of reducing the 1200VDC to 5V, definitely need to use switching regulator. Component selection for high voltage will be a issue too.

Guys, I am willing yo burn candle and time to experiments to develop reliable solution.

Really appreciate if you guys can point me in the right direction or give me some advice or reference design.

Looking for in hearing from you.
09-09-2013 10:47 PM
Top #2
Kadir
Let me understand , you need 5V@1A from 1200VDC SOLAR PANEL, what is the main load for the solar panel. what is the system power range. Do you need isolation from solar panel return.. Can you be bit more specific..
Top #3
Jay
If it were me, right off the top of my head I would try a 2-switch flyback. Use triple insulated wires on the xfmr. That is, assuming your load is small. Kadir mentioned 1A. Seems like a tiny load to me...anyways, give us some more details if you can.

Check out STMicroelectronics 1500V MOSFET family (ie part # STW9N150). These look pretty sweet. You might also try looking around for IGBTs at this voltage level.

Also, you can always step down to something higher than 5V, and then place a linear regulator or another buck stage on the secondary side to help out. Again, this would depend on the type of power level you are working with. Are we talk ing about 5W, or 5kW?
09-09-2013 10:48 PM
Top #4
Jay