Electric Automation Forum
Forum » Variable frequency drive » Installation of VFD on Air Compressor
Topics: Installation of VFD on Air Compressor on Variable frequency drive
Start by
Usman Amjad Mir
03-26-2014 09:47 PM

Installation of VFD on Air Compressor

All,

I need your detailed support on one of my project. I request you all to please answer to all my questions and queries to properly support me on this project.

I have been given a project to install VFD on air compressor. The purpose is to control compressor’s speed according to desired pressure at header. The current compressor control works on loading and unloading of air compressor as per pressure requirement at common header.

There are following types of air compressors installed at site:

a) Screw Air Compressor.
b) Piston Air Compressor.

I am new to this technology and doesn’t know:

1. Is this possible to install VFD on “Piston Air Compressor” as I have heard that only screw compressors are best to go with VFD?
2. What parameters do I need to study for air compressor before installing it with VFD.
3. What possible problem may occur by installing VFD which can easily be resolved by working on it proactively.

Can anyone help?
03-27-2014 12:32 AM
Top #2
Steven Paul Richardson
03-27-2014 12:32 AM
Reciprocating and screw compressors have a minimum speed that is required for proper lubrication of the bearings. Either compressor has a maximum speed. Hence, high and low frequency settings are needed as well as rate of change tuning to prevent surging. Improved pressure control, reduced vibration, and longer compressor life should be attained as well as modest electrical savings. Screw compressor should work the bast so long as it does not require excessive turn-down. Reciprocating compressor should have a greater turn-down.
03-27-2014 03:20 AM
Top #3
Usman Amjad Mir
03-27-2014 03:20 AM
Hi Steven,

Thanks for your response.