Electric Automation Forum
Forum » General Discussion » Fundamental Power Conversion Book
Topics: Fundamental Power Conversion Book on General Discussion
Start by
Martin
09-09-2013 11:04 PM

Fundamental Power Conversion Book

I am a Product Manager for an LED lighting company and power conversion (line voltage AC to low voltage DC) is one of the most fundamental engineering issues we face. I am trying to get a better understanding of the basics of power conversion, can anyone recommend a good place to start?
Top #2
Bob
It sounds like you are looking for a textbook more than a cookbook. In that case I recommend "Fundamentals of Power Electronics" by Erickson and Maksimovic (2nd edition). If you do buy it please try to buy a US copy and not an "International Edition" (which are cheaper but the authors don't get the royalties).

Others will offer their favorite books from Ned Mohan, Abe Pressman, or Rashid.

Disclosure, I am a part time student at University of Colorado - Boulder and have taken classes from Maksimovic and Erickson is my thesis advisor.
09-09-2013 11:05 PM
Top #3
John
09-09-2013 11:05 PM
"Switching Power Supply Design" by Pressman is my go-to text. I know it so well, I don't even need to look at the index or TOC! But I agree with Bob that Erickson and Maksimovic looks very good, too.

I do find Pressman somewhat limited on the simulation side. I have put a lot of his calculations into Excel spreadsheets, which are pretty useful.

Can anyone recommend "Switch-Mode Power Supplies Spice Simulations and Practical Designs" by Christophe Basso?
09-09-2013 11:06 PM
Top #4
Ernest
Don't get into the trap of feeling like you need to make an isolated power converter but do be careful. An ordinary light bulb filament is not isolated from to power line but the whole unit once screwed in does not expose any conductive parts and you will need to keep that insulation isolation or if any heat sinks or other metal is exposed they will need isolation.
Top #5
Datta