Electric Automation Forum
Forum » General Discussion » How to select the best control valve?
Topics: How to select the best control valve? on General Discussion
Start by
Leandro Lima
10-23-2013 09:50 AM

How to select the best control valve?

Hi everyone, I'm a student of Control and Automation Engineering at UFMG/Brazil and I'm researching about control valves for a college work. I'll be thankful if you send opinions and suggestions about control valves, as comparative spreadsheets, documentation, good websites to search, application in your companies, type, calibration, costs of maintenance and calibration, etc.. Also I would like to receive real cases in your companies where some type of valve was chosen and why.

The best!
10-23-2013 12:07 PM
Top #2
Nick Stabler
10-23-2013 12:07 PM
Speaking with better than 35 years experience within the process control industry and having completed five major retrofits of major control systems, I can honestly maintain that he biggest bang for a buck has always been with Fisher Valves. Even after more than 15 to 20 years they have been superlative within our paper mill environment. They cost a premium but in service you will get it back many fold. Believe it or not, I am not affiliated with any Fisher products, but simply giving my opinion based upon experience.

Regards: Nick Stabler
10-23-2013 05:04 PM
Top #3
Mandar Phadke
10-23-2013 05:04 PM
Hi Leandro,